Transportation Regulatory Agencies

Department of Transportation

The Department of Transportation, also known as DOT, is a major federal department that regulates transportation. Its areas of focus include the regulation of public highways, preventing drivers from operating under the influence, and ensuring that all trucks and trailers meet travel requirements. Within the Department of Transportation, there are sub-agencies with more specialized areas of focus. These agencies include the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), Federal Railroad Administration (FRA), and the Maritime Administration (MARAD). Below you can find brief descriptions of these agencies.

Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

As the name suggests, the Federal Highway Administration focuses on highway transportation. Its main goal is ensuring safety while improving the quality of life and our environment through the implementation of major programs. These programs include the Federal-Aid Highway Program and the Federal Lands Highway Program. The Federal-Aid Highway Program provides financial assistance to states to improve national highway systems, bridges, and roads. The Federal Lands Program provides the public with access to national forests and parks.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)

The FMCSA aims to prevent motor-vehicle related injuries involving large trucks and buses. To ensure the overall safety of others and enforce safety regulations, the FMCSA uses safety information systems to focus on higher risk carriers. Also, they dedicate time to educating carriers, commercial drivers, and the public.

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

The FAA manages the safety and security of civil aviation. They also enforce the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act regulations for shipments traveling by air. 

Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)

The FRA’s mission is to “enable the safe, reliable, and efficient movement of people and goods for a strong America, now and in the future.” They aim to promote safety throughout the railroad industry in the US. More than 400 federal staff members throughout eight regional offices are employed by the FRA. These experts conduct safety inspections, ensuring all rules and regulations are followed.

Maritime Administration (MARAD)

The Maritime Administration supports maritime transportation infrastructure, such as ships and shipping, as well as port and vessel operations. They also maintain a fleet of cargo ships for surge sea-lift during national emergencies and war. Additionally, MARAD holds educational programs for America’s young and future mariners. 

LogiWorld works closely with carriers and their drivers to ensure they are in compliance with all regulatory agencies that govern transportation. We pay careful attention to these processes so our customers can have a stress-free experience when booking freight. If you are looking for a partner for your next shipment, contact our team today for a free quote. 

Request a Free Quote

"*" indicates required fields